Daily King James Bible Verse

Daily Quote

Wednesday, February 26, 2014

Where Courage Calls by Janette Oke and Laurel Oke Logan~~A Litfuse Publicity Group Book Review, Blog Tour and iPad Mini Giveaway

Reading a Book by Janette Oke  is Like Going Home

I have been a fan of Janette Oke's books for a number of years. I enjoy the life stories that she creates which allow the reader to truly get to know the characters. I also enjoy that I am able to learn some of Canada's history while reading the books.

Beth Thatcher is a teacher headed from her life of luxury in early 1900's Toronto to the Western Canadian mining town, Coal Valley, to teach its children. Many of whom have recently lost their father or brother in a mining accident. It wasn't easy for Beth to adjust to her new life in this unfamiliar town, but she quickly came to love the people of the town and several became like family during her year of teaching there.

Janette and her daughter Laurel continued the standard of quality that was set with the Love Comes Softly series with their newest book, When Courage Calls. This book is longer than Janette's other books, the length lent to the opportunity for the authors to spend on character development and character relationships. This is not a fast paced book, if it was I think it would take away from the heart of the story. Life on the Canadian Prairie (as well as the American Prairie) was not fast paced, like today's world. It was hard. The story really did give the reader that impression. I'm looking forward to the sequel, when it becomes available, because I'm certain that  Elizabeth's story has not yet been completed.

About the Book:

Her courage and her heart will be tested in ways she never expected…

Beth Thatcher has spent her entire life in the safe, comfortable world of her family, her friends, and the social outings her father’s wealth provides. But Beth is about to leave it all behind to accept a teaching position in the rugged foothills of western Canada. Inspired by her aunt Elizabeth, who went west to teach school several years ago, and gently encouraged by her father, Beth resolves to put her trust in God and bravely face any challenge that comes her way.

But the conditions in Coal Valley are even worse than she’d feared. A recent mining accident has left the town grieving and at the mercy of the mining company. The children have had very little prior education, and many of the locals don’t even speak English. There isn’t even a proper schoolhouse. In addition, Beth’s heart is torn between two young men–both Mounties, one a lifelong friend and the other a kind, quiet man who comes to her aid more than once.

Despite the many challenges, Beth is determined to make a difference in the rustic frontier town. But when her sister visits from the East, reminding her of all the luxuries she’s had to give up, will Beth decide to return to her privileged life as soon as the school year is over?

Would you like to read an excerpt?

Would you like to purchase the book?

Meet Janette and Laurel:





Bestselling author Janette Oke (pronounced "oak") is celebrated across the world for her significant contribution to the Christian book industry. She is credited with launching the modern era of inspirational fiction with the publication of her first novel, Love Comes Softly, in 1979. Today, her novels have sold more than 30 million copies, and she is the recipient of the ECPA President's Award, the CBA Life Impact Award, the Gold Medallion, and the Christy Award. Janette and her husband, Edward, live in Alberta, Canada.







Laurel Oke Logan, daughter of Edward and Janette Oke, is the author of Janette Oke: A Heart for the Prairie, as well as the novel Dana's Valley, which she co-wrote with her mom. Laurel and her husband have six children and two sons-in-law and live near Indianapolis, Indiana.

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*Contest Information*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

Janette Oke's newest book, Where Courage Calls (co-written with her daughter, Laurel Oke Logan), is receiving rave reviews. It is the companion story to Hallmark Channel's TV series When Calls the Heart, set in the Canadian west.

Janette and Laurel are celebrating with an iPad Mini giveaway and a Facebook author chat party on March 4th.


One winner will receive:
Enter today by clicking one of the icons below. But hurry, the giveaway ends on March 4th. Winner will be announced at the Where Courage Calls Facebook Party on March 4th. Connect with Janette and Laurel for an evening of book chat, trivia, laughter, and more!

So grab your copy of Where Courage Calls and join Janette and Laurel on the evening of March 4th for a chance to connect and make some new friends. (If you haven't read the book, don't let that stop you from coming!)

Don't miss a moment of the fun; RSVP today by clicking JOIN on the event page. Tell your friends via FACEBOOK or TWITTER and increase your chances of winning. Hope to see you on the 4th!



**Where Courage Calls by Janette Oke and Laurel Oke Logan was provided for me free by Litfuse Publicity Group in exchange for my honest review.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...